Christmas in Krakow


I was walking home last night and stopped in the Rynek Glowny or Main Square to behold the Christmas lights and Market, surrounded by centuries-old churches, buildings and towers. It was the ideal moment to take a break and reflect on the beauty that Krakow has to offer.

My friend Masha is living quite the adventure in Cairo. She hails from Vladivostok, Russia–and brings an enlightening Russian-expat perspective on the revolution, protests and recent elections in Cairo. She recently adopted a red short-haired kitten with a broken leg off the streets of Cairo and although her feline friend makes blogging difficult by sleeping by her laptop, their life together seems cozy and never boring.

I went to the Stary Kleparz (Old Market) today for a routine shopping run. I bought feta cheese with herbs, pickles, pears, carrots, potatoes, garlic, peppers, and dried mushrooms. Culinary experiments await.

Will be hosting the 4th “Story Slam” here in Krakow at Massolit. Somehow I did not put as much effort into promoting the event as I would have liked since schoolwork and other responsibilities keep me occupied.

I am proud to say that I managed to hang or stick, rather, a star-shaped Christmas wreath on my door with only poster putty yesterday. Do I didn’t need a hammer or nail like everyone else. Not that I had a choice in the matter–my landlady would not be happy to see the door to her apartment with a fresh new nail-sized hole.

Leave a Reply

