Storytelling Events in Los Angeles


I just came back from this month’s In Bloom storytelling event at the Lyric Hyperion Theatre. One of my goals back here in LA was to explore different styles of story “slams” or storytelling events for ideas on how to better improve how I organize storyslams in Krakow.

So far, I went to two In Bloom events and one The Moth Storyslam. In Bloom is hosted monthly and features local TV writers, stand-up comedians, producers and actors in the biz who perform and volunteer because of their dedication and love for basically standing up in a small theatre with an intimate audience (no more than 60 people) and telling a humorous (sometimes awkward or sad) but very personal true story. I think the best storyteller, or one of the best, was Deana Barone who organizes another storytelling event, the Trunk Show in Santa Monica.

To take my “attempt-to-respark-my-creativity” mode one step further, I am taking a storyteling class this week and meeting with an acting coach because I think these might help me professionally as a writer. But who knows. What if I get too creative?

 

Leave a Reply

